Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Ajay Maken to contest Delhi polls
Thursday January 15, 2015 0:46 AM, IANS

Congress leader and former union minister Ajay Maken's name figured in the party's second list of 25 candidates for the Delhi assembly polls that was released here Wednesday.

Maken, who has been fielded from the Sadar Bazar assembly constituency, is also the Congress campaign committee chief for the election.

With this, the party has named 49 candidates for the 70-member Delhi assembly which will vote Feb 7.

The 50-year-old leader has been a three-time Delhi legislator and a cabinet minister in the Sheila Dikshit government. The Congress regime was ousted by the Aam Aadmi Party in the 2013 assembly polls.

A two-time parliamentarian from New Delhi constituency, Maken lost to Bharatiya Janata Party's Meenakshi Lekhi in the 2014 Lok Sabha election.

The list also had the name of former West Delhi Lok Sabha member Mahabal Mishra who will contest from Dwarka assembly seat.

Former Delhi assembly speaker Yoganand Shastri has been given the ticket from Malviya Nagar in south Delhi. In the last assembly polls, former minister Kiran Walia had unsuccessfully contested from this constituency.

Rita Shokeen, wife of independent legislator in the outgoing assembly Ramveer Shokeen, has been fielded from Mundka seat.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.