Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
With a win in Kalyan-Dombivali, Owaisi's winning streak in Maharashtra continues
Monday November 2, 2015 10:11 PM, Staff Reporter

Kalyan: The Asaduddin Owaisi led All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) repeated its winning show first in the 2014 state election and later in the Aurangabad Municipal Corporation election by opening its account by winning 04 seats in the Kalyan-Dombivli Municipal Corporation (KDMC) 2015 elections.

According to the results declared by the election commission the MIM candidates Tanzila Ayaz Maulvi and Kalim Balamiya Shaikh have been declared winner.

While Tanzila Maulvi contested the polls from Gowind Wadi Ward no 34, Kalim Balamiya Shaikh won from Netivali Teakdi. Ward no 44.

The two other MIM candidates are Shakeela Khan and Khasib Tanki. Both of these candidates contested the election as indpendents. Party insiders said due to some technical problems, the two could not be given the party symbol.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) had fielded candidates in 07 wards. While two of its official candidates won the elections, others were defeated by a slender margin.

The AIMIM, besides winning two seats in the 2014 assembly elections, had also won in the Nanded and Aurangabad corporation polls.

The Kalyan-Dombivali Municipal Corporation (KDMC) elections threw up a hung house on Monday, with the Shiv Sena edging past the BJP, while the Congress-NCP combine appeared set to retain power in the Kolhapur Municipal Corporation (KMC).

All the four major parties, which were ruling the outgoing civic bodies in alliance, fought the elections separately this time after their split prior to the October 2014 assembly polls that propelled the BJP to power.

The Shiv Sena emerged as the single largest party by winning 52 of the 122 seats in the KDMC. The BJP stood second with 42 while the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) secured nine seats.

Worried by a 10-seat shortfall to secure a simple majority, the Shiv Sena may be compelled to seek the support of other parties unless it decides to tie up with the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Counting of votes started amid tight security at around 10:00 am. A large number of people gathered outside Krishi Bazaar Centre to know the fate of their favorite candidates.

Earlier, about 47% of the total voters cast their votes Sunday November 01, 2015 for 117 seats in the 122-member house. In 2010 elections, the total voter turn out was 43.49 per cent.

The Kalyan-Dombivli Municipal Corporation (KDMC) 2015 elections witnessed a bitter fight between the Bhartia Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena. The two parties are alliance in the state government, but contested the Kalyan-Dombivli Municipal Corporation (KDMC) elections separately.

While Shiv-Sena, which ruled the Kalyan-Dombivli Municipal Corporation (KDMC) with the support from BJP for the last five years, contested in 115 wards, the BJP fought in 109 wards.

The Congress and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) contested the Kalyan-Dombivli Municipal Corporation (KDMC) 2015 elections together. While the Congress contested in 56 wards, the NCP fielded its candidates in 46 wards.

Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) - a faction of Shiv Sena led by Sena founder's nephew Raj Thackeray contested on 85 seats.

A whopping 252 independent candidates were also trying their luck, besides other smaller parties like RPI, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Left parties and Bahujan Vikas Aghadi.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of