Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
MIM candidate loses election in Bikapur, Asaduddin Owaisi's Dalit card backfired
Tuesday February 16, 2016 9:42 PM, Agencies

Lucknow: Fielding a Dalit candidate in the Bikapur assembly by election in Uttar Pradesh proved suicidal for Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) President and Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi.

Ignoring the Muslim candidates who wanted to contest the by-election on the MIM ticket, Owaisi fielded Pradeep Kori, a Dalit youth leader. Kori however has lost in the by-election, according to the state election commission annuncement made after counting of votes Tuesady.

According to the reports, Samajwadi Party candidate Anand Sen has won the Bikapur assembly seat by more than 6,440 votes. Sen, with 68,896 votes defeated his nearest rival Munna Singh Chauhan of Rashtriya Lok Dal, who bagged a total of 62,456 votes.

Pradeep Kori of MIM could get only 11,857 votes.

This is less than BJP's Ramrishna Tiwari who polled a total of 11,933 votes. Asad Ahmed of the Congress party could get just 2,945 votes whereas Azmuddin of Peace Party bagged 2,800 votes

Out of the total 3,64,820 votes in the Bikapur assembly seat, 16,7999 votes were polled in the by-election held on February 13, 2016.

Local Muslims were angry after Owaisi - who heads a Hyderabad based party, in an attempt to expand its party base in other parts of the counrty, fileded a non-Muslim candidate. They were of the view that fulfilling political gains at the cost of community's interest will not be acceptable.

Meanwhile, in a jolt to the ruling Samajwadi Party ahead of the crucial assemby elections in Uttar Pradesh, Mavia Ali of Congress has won the Deoband assembly seat defeating the ruling party candidate Meena Rana, according to the result announced by the vote count Tuesday.

BJP wrested the Muzaffarnagar seat from the ruling Samajwadi Party, which also lost the Deoband seat to the Congress in two of the three by-elections in UP for which results were announced today.

The bypoll results are being viewed as crucial in the countdown to the Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh next year.

"Congress has won Deoband (Saharanpur), while BJP has won Muzaffarnagar seat. SP has won in Bikapur (Faizabad)," said UP Chief Electoral Officer, Arun Singhal.

While BJP's Kapil Dev Agarwal has won from the Muzffarnagar seat, Mavia Ali of Congress won the Deoband defeating SP candidate Meena Rana.

SP's Anand Sen Yadav is leading in Bikapur over his nearest rival RLD candidate Munna Singh Chauhan.

The by-elections were necessitated in Muzaffarnagar, Deoband and Bikapur due to death of of SP MLAs Chitranjan Swaroop, Rajendra Singh Rana and Mitrasen Yadav last year.

Gaurav Swaroop was the SP candidate from Muzaffarnagar, while Anandsen Yadav and Meena Rana were the party candidates from Bikapur and Deoband seat

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of