Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Mavia Ali of Congress wins Deoband, BJP's Kapil Dev Agarwal wins Muzaffarnagar bypoll
Tuesday February 16, 2016 10:14 PM, Agencies

Lucknow: In a jolt to the ruling Samajwadi Party ahead of the crucial assemby elections in Uttar Pradesh, Mavia Ali of Congress has won the Deoband assembly seat defeating the ruling party candidate Meena Singh Rana, according to the result announced by the vote count Tuesday.

BJP wrested the Muzaffarnagar seat from the ruling Samajwadi Party, which also lost the Deoband seat to the Congress in two of the three by-elections in UP for which results were announced today.

In the close contest, Mavia Ali of the Congress Party bagged a total of 51,012 votes as againt 47,453 votes polled by Meena Singh Rana of the Samajwadi Party.

Rampal Singh Pundir of the BJP ended third with 45,513 votes.

Out of the total of 3,21,375 votes, 1,69,216 votes were polled in the Deoband assembly by-poll held on Februray 13, 2016.

In Muzaffarnagar, BJP's Kapil Dev Agarwal won the by-election defeating Gaurav Swarup Bansal of the Samajwadi Party by about 07,000 votes. Kapil Dev bagged 65,378 votes whereas Bansal polled a total of 58,026 votes.

Here, Salaman Sayeed of the Congress ended a distant 4th with 10,561 votes.Mithlesh Pal of RLD stood 3rd with 14,673 votes.

The ruling Samajwadi Party however won in Bikapur, according to the final result. SP's Anand Sen Yadav defeated his nearest rival RLD candidate Munna Singh Chauhan in Bikapur.

The bypoll results are being viewed as crucial in the countdown to the Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh next year.

The by-elections were necessitated in Muzaffarnagar, Deoband and Bikapur due to death of of SP MLAs Chitranjan Swaroop, Rajendra Singh Rana and Mitrasen Yadav last year.

Gaurav Swaroop was the SP candidate from Muzaffarnagar, while Anandsen Yadav and Meena Rana were the party candidates from Bikapur and Deoband seat

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of