Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
140-Member Kerala Assembly to have 29 Muslim MLAs, 18 IUML Members
Friday May 20, 2016 0:40 AM, News Network

The newly elected 140-member Kerala Assembly will have a total of 29 Muslim MLAs - 07 down from the Muslim tally in 2011, according to the election commission data released after counting of vote completed Thursday.

Majority of the Muslim MLAs elected to the Kerala house are from Indian Union Muslim League (IUML). The IUML had fielded 24 candidates in the 2016 elections - 18 of them have got elected. 16 of them are Muslims, the remaining 02 are non-Muslims.

The Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI), the party which is trying very hard to show its political power, could not win any seat. The SDPI had earlier won seats in local bodies elections.

Other Muslim MLAs elected to the Kerala assembly are 02 of Congress, 07 are from the CPI-M, 03 Independents and 01 Muslim candidate won the election on National Secular Conference ticket.

Some of the Muslim MLAs elected to the house as IUML candidates are: K.M Shaji, Manjalamkuzhi Ali, P.K Abdu Rabb, Abduk Hameed Master, P.K Basheer and V K Ibrahim Kunju.

Muslim MLAs from the Congress side are Anvar Sadath and Aryadan Shoukath.

Adv. A.M.Ariff, Mammed Koya V K C, M. Noushad, K.V. Abdul Khader and A C Moideen few of the Muslims who have won the election as the CPI-M candidates.

Overall, CPI-M has won 58 seats, CPI has won 19 seats and the Congress has won 22 seats.

Kerala went to the poll on May 16. The voter turnout in the state was a tad higher at 77.35 percent as compared to 75.12 percent in the previous elections, an official said here on Tuesday.

Kozhikode district recorded the highest voter participation at 81.89 percent followed by Kannur at 80.63 percent, said the official of the Election Commission.

Pathanamthitta district recorded the lowest voter turnout at 71.66 per cent.

The state recorded polling of 71 percent till six p.m. on Monday, but there were long queues of voters at some polling stations at that time, Deputy Election Commissioner Umesh Sinha said on Monday in New Delhi.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of