Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Mohammad Shami, former SP leader who joined BSP before state polls, shot dead

Monday March 20, 2017 9:50 PM, & Agencies

Allahabad: Mohammad Shami, who resigned from the Samajwadi Party (SP) to join Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) just before the recently concluded Uttar Pradesh state elections, was shot dead in Allahabad district on Sunday night.

The brutal murder of 66-year-old Mohmmad Shami, who had earlier contested UP election as Samajwadi Party (SP) against Bahubali neta Raja Bhaiyya, took place hours after Hindutva hardliner Yogi Adityanath took his oath as Chief Minister of the state and promised to end the "Gunda Raaj".

Shami, shot dead by bike-borne assailants in the town of Mau Aima, died on the spot. The police arrived soon after and said five bullets had been fired at Shami.

Hours after a BSP leader was shot dead in Allahabad, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath directed DGP Javeed Ahmed to ensure that there was no laxity in improving law and order situation.

Official sources said Adityanath expressed concern over the incident and stressed that restoring law and order was the top priority of his government.

The UP Director General of Police (DGP) has been asked to hold video conferences with the District Magistrates (DMs) and the Superintendents of Police (SPs) of all the 75 districts of the state to take stock of law and order situation and other administrative issues, they said.



Share this page
More Headlines
'Pink noise' can help oldies sleep their way to better memory
Third time MLA Raziya Sultana is only Muslim legislator in 117-member Punjab Assembly
Pilgrims on Umrah likely to get extended visa, chance to visit other cities in Saudi Arabia
Manohar Parrikar back in Goa as Chief Minister
Manipur: Congress MLA, lone Trinamool Congress legislator join BJP: Himanta Biswa Sarma
Prime Minister Modi asks people to pledge to create 'New India' by 2022
Muslim votes went to BJP, Shaista Amber and Mayawati both believe so, but for different reasons
60-member Manipur Assembly will have 03 Muslim MLAs
BJP majority Uttar Pradesh Assembly to have 24 Muslim MLAs, second fewest in its history
Netherlands detains Turkish minister, forcibly deports her to Germany
End of ‘Kamandal’ vs ‘Mandal’ Politics in Uttar Pradesh
Dr Mohd Ayub of Peace Party loses in Khalilabad; Zafar Alam of SP dislodged in Aligarh
Tasleem Ahmad, Masood Akhtar of SP among winners in Uttar Pradesh
Mohammad Abdullah, 26-yr-old son of SP stalwart Azam Khan, wins 2017 UP elections
Mukhtar Ansari wins from Mau, Haji Ikram Qureshi romps home Moradabad Rural
Imran Masood of Congress loses Nakur seat to BJP by 4,000 votes
Sibgatullah Ansari of BSP loses Mohammadabad seat to BJP in straight fight
Senior SP leader Azam Khan wins Rampur assembly seat by over 45,000 votes
Nahid Hasan of Samajwadi Party defeats BJP candidate in Kairana, Uttar Pradesh
Brijesh Singh of BJP defeats Maviya Ali in Muslim dominated Deoband, Uttar Pradesh

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of