Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Wprld
Aung San Suu Kyi beats Trump to 'win' Islamophobe of the year 2017 award

Monday November 27, 2017 7:15 PM , OIC-INA

Aung San Suu Kyi
[A member of the Islamic Movement in Israel, a political movement for Arab Muslims inside Israel, displays a defaced poster of Myanmar’s State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi during a demonstration to condemn Myanmar’s treatment of the Muslim Rohingya minority, in front of the embassy of Myanmar, in Tel Aviv, Israel, Monday, Sept. 11, 2017. Protest leader Ibrahim Sarsour said the crowd came to condemn what he called “atrocities” committed by the Myanmar government. (AP Photo/Oded Balilty)]

Myanmar's Foreign Minister and de facto Leader Aung San Suu Kyi was chosen for the '2017 International Islamophobe of the Year Award' on Sunday at the annual Islamophobia Awards ceremony conducted by the London-based Islamic Human Rights Commission.

Suu Kyi's atrocities targeting Myanmar's Muslim minority are so egregious that she shot past other nominated international Islamophobes, U.S. President Donald Trump, French far-right party National Front leader Marie Le Pen, and Dutch far-right Freedoms Party leader Geert Wilders.

Between 2,000 and 3,000 Muslims were killed in Myanmar's Rakhine state over the last three months, according to the European Rohingya Council and more than 617,000 Rohingya Muslims were forced to take shelter in neighboring Bangladesh, Anadolu Agency reported.

The annual Islamophobia Awards by the London-based Islamic Human Rights Commission was attended by representatives of many NGOs and Muslim organizations as well as prominent figures. The program started with recitation of a few verses from the Muslim holy book of Qur’an.

In the "United Kingdom" category, the Islamophobes of the year goes to Tommy Robinson, former leader of the fascist English Defense League (EDL) who is infamously known for his anti-Islam views.

The other candidates in this category were TV presenter and columnist Katie Hopkins, former leader of the populist UK Independence Party (UKIP) Nigel Farage, far-right For Britain Party founder Anne Marie Waters and British Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson.

Fox News also received the ironic award in the "media" category. The Islamic Human Rights Commission is an "independent, not-for-profit, campaign, research and advocacy organization," established in 1997.

Share this page
More Headlines
Votes cast for BSP go to BJP? - Doubts over EVM continue in Uttar Pradesh civic polls
Maharashtra bound train takes wrong route, reaches Madhya Pradesh
Israeli Jew claims he visited Prophet's Mosque in Madina; Posts videos, photos
Now, Modi govt mulls scrapping cheques to push digital transaction
Pune's Trump Tower among 30 projects facing pollution board show-cause notice
Modi govt moves forward to bring legislation banning triple talaq
Smart, wireless heat belts for relief from pain launched in Bengaluru
Men have higher sex drive, better erection after getting a vasectomy: Study
Justice Dalveer Bhandari re-elected to International Court as Britain pulls out
Tipu Sultan: Diverse Narratives
Padmavati Controversy: A struggle between Secular Hindus and Taliban Hindus
Ready to give up land rights to pave way for construction of Ram Mandir: Shia Board
SSC MTS Non Technical Re-Exam 2016: Tentative Answer Keys released
Denied job twice due to Hijab, TISS graduate says scarf adds to her confidence
WBJEE 2018 on April 22; Check Eligibility, Syllabus, Age Limit and Important dates
Kerala TET December 2017: Online registration begins, Apply before December 03
Ibn Rushd (Averroes): Islamic scholar who gave the world Modern Philosophy
Nilofer Merchant among World’s Top 50 Thinkers in 2017
Javed Pirzada, Suleman and Iqbal Patel in Congress 1st list for Gujarat polls
Driverless, Hybrid Cars a swipe away in cities of the future
Improved treatments for allergies made possible by new research
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of