Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Election Commission to probe how Karnataka election dates were 'leaked'

Tuesday March 27, 2018 10:01 PM, News Network

Karnataka election date leaked

New Delhi: Chief Election Commissioner of India OP Rawat on Tuesday said the commission will probe how the Karnataka assembly election dates were leaked and suitable action will be taken against those found guilty.

"Strict legal and administrative action will be taken on the leak of information," Rawat said while addressing the press called to announce the Karnataka Assembly election schedule.

Rawat's statement came in reply to a question by a reporter who asked how some people associated with the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) are circualting the Karnataka election dates before the Election Commission.

It was earlier found that BJP's IT cell chief Amit Malviya tweeted the date of election. The tweet, which got the date of counting wrong, has now been deleted.

"Karnataka will vote on 12May2018, counting done on 18May2018", Malviya tweeted at around 11:08 today morning, even as the Election Commission was yet to announce officially the Karnataka Election Schedule.

Meanwhile, Chief Election Commissioner of India Om Prakash Rawat said while addressing the press meet said Karnataka Assembly Election 2018 will be held on May 12 and counting of votes will be done on May 15,

“The election schedule has been fixed keeping in mind various factors including the ongoing exams, availability of police force and officials, time needed for their deployment and major festivals”, he said.

The Chief Election Commissioner of India also said that the single day phase has been planned in Karnataka heeding to the demands by all political parties.

He also said that the notification for the Karnataka assembly election 2018 will be released on April 17 but the election code of conduct comes into force from today.

He also said that the last date to file nomination will be April 24, scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on April 25 and last date to withdraw nomination will be April 27.

He also said that there will be a total of 4.96 crore voters in Karnataka and efforts are taken that all of them participate in the election without any fear. “Polling percent in 2013 was 70.14 percent. The Election Commission is taking all efforts to increase the poll percentage in 2018”, he said.

Karnataka is currently being ruled by the Congress which has a total of 113 MLAs in the house of 224. The BJP has 44 Members whereas Janata Dal (S) had 40 MLAs. The 2013 Karnataka elections were held on May 05. The current tenure of Karnataka assembly will end on May 28, 2018. As per rules the assembly election will have to be held and new house constituted before May 29.

According to 2011 Census of India, 84% of the population in Karnataka are Hindu, 12.9% are Muslim, 1.9% are Christian, 0.7% are Jains, 0.2% are Buddhist, some 0.1% are Sikhs, and remaining belong to other religions. Karnataka is also the location of some of tribes like, Nayaka, Soliga, and Yerava.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of