Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Karnataka Assembly Election 2018 on May 12, Vote Count on May 15: EC

Tuesday March 27, 2018 10:00 PM, News Network

Karnataka election date

New Delhi: Karnataka Assembly Election 2018 will be held on May 12 and counting of votes will be done on May 15, Chief Election Commissioner of India Om Prakash Rawat said while addressing a press meet Tuesday.

“The election schedule has been fixed keeping in mind various factors including the ongoing exams, availability of police force and officials, time needed for their deployment and major festivals”, he said.

The Chief Election Commissioner of India also said that the single day phase has been planned in Karnataka heeding to the demands by all political parties.

He also said that the notification for the Karnataka assembly election 2018 will be released on April 17 but the election code of conduct comes into force from today.

He also said that the last date to file nomination will be April 24, scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on April 25 and last date to withdraw nomination will be April 27.

He also said that there will be a total of 4.96 crore voters in Karnataka and efforts are taken that all of them participate in the election without any fear. “Polling percent in 2013 was 70.14 percent. The Election Commission is taking all efforts to increase the poll percentage in 2018”, he said.

Karnataka is currently being ruled by the Congress which has a total of 113 MLAs in the house of 224. The BJP has 44 Members whereas Janata Dal (S) had 40 MLAs. The 2013 Karnataka elections were held on May 05. The current tenure of Karnataka assembly will end on May 28, 2018. As per rules the assembly election will have to be held and new house constituted before May 29.

According to 2011 Census of India, 84% of the population in Karnataka are Hindu, 12.9% are Muslim, 1.9% are Christian, 0.7% are Jains, 0.2% are Buddhist, some 0.1% are Sikhs, and remaining belong to other religions. Karnataka is also the location of some of tribes like, Nayaka, Soliga, and Yerava.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of