Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
State election in Madhya Pradesh on Nov 28, 2018; Counting of votes on Dec 11

Saturday October 6, 2018 6:07 PM, News Network

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election November 2018 Schedule

New Delhi: The state elections in Madhya Pradesh to elect new 230-member assembly will be held on November 28, 2018. Counting of votes will be done on December 11, 2018, the Eletion Commission of India (ECI) announced on Saturday.

"The assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh will be held for all 230 seats on November 28, 2018. Counting of votes will be done on December 11 and the result will also be declared on the same day", Chief Election Commissioner of India OP Rawat said Saturday.

Though the Election Commission of India will issue the Gazette Notification for November 2018 Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections on November 02, 2018, with the announcement of election schedule, the Model Code of Conduct has come into force with immediate effect.

According to the Madhya Pradesh election schedule announced by the ECI today, last date of nominations in the state is November 09, 2018, date of scrutiny of nominations is November 12, 2018 and last date of withdrawal is November 14, 2018.

The tenure of Madhya Pradesh's current assembly ends on January 07, 2019.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is ruling in Madhya Pradesh since last 15 years. In the 2014 elections, the BJP had won 166 seats in the House and elected Shivraj Singh Chouhan as Chief Minister for the 3rd consecutive term.

The Congress party has a total of 57 members in the current assembly, BSP has 04 and Independents 02.

In power for the last three terms, the BJP is however facing a strong anti-incumbency in the November 2018 MP state assembly polls. The Congress which ruled the state for most of the period after independence is confident of a come back in the state.

Various surveys and exit polls have also predicted that the BJP is facing a strong anti-incumbency in the state and it will be very difficult for the party to retain power in the state.

Along with Madhya Pradesh, the Election Commission of India also announced today the election schedule of Telangana, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of