Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Rajasthan assembly polls on Friday Dec 07; Counting of votes on Dec 11, 2018

Saturday October 6, 2018 7:07 PM, News Network

Rajasthan Election 2018 Schedule

New Delhi: The state elections in Rajasthan to elect new 200-member assembly will be held on December 07, 2018. Counting of votes will be done on December 11, 2018, the Eletion Commission of India (ECI) announced on Saturday.

"The assembly elections in Rajasthan will be held for all 200 seats on December 07, 2018. Counting of votes will be done on December 11 and the result will also be declared on the same day", Chief Election Commissioner of India OP Rawat said Saturday.

Though the Election Commission of India will issue the Gazette Notification for December 2018 Rajasthan Assembly elections on November 12, 2018, with the announcement of election schedule, the Model Code of Conduct has come into force with immediate effect.

According to the Rajasthan election schedule announced by the ECI today, last date of nominations in the state is November 19, 2018, date of scrutiny of nominations is November 20, 2018 and last date of withdrawal is November 22, 2018.

The tenure of Rajasthan's current assembly ends on January 20, 2019.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is ruling in Rajasthan since 2014. In the 2014 elections, the BJP had won 160 seats in the House and elected Vasundhara Raje Scindia as Chief Minister of Rajasthan.

The Congress party has a total of 25 members in the current assembly, BSP has 02, National Unionist Zamindara Party 02 and Independents 07. Three seats are currently vacant.

The BJP is facing a strong anti-incumbency in the December 2018 Rajasthan state assembly polls. The Congress which ruled the state for most of the period after independence is confident of a come back in the state.

Various surveys and exit polls have also predicted that the BJP is facing a strong anti-incumbency in the state and it will be very difficult for the party to retain power in the state.

Along with Rajasthan, the Election Commission of India also announced today the election schedule of Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of