Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Telangana assembly polls on Friday Dec 07; Vote count, Results on Dec 11, 2018

Saturday October 6, 2018 7:39 PM, News Network

Telangana Assembly Election December 2018 Schedule

New Delhi: The Assembly elections in Telangana to elect new 119-member assembly will be held on Friday December 07, 2018. Counting of votes will be done on December 11, 2018, the Eletion Commission of India (ECI) announced on Saturday.

"The assembly elections in Telangana will be held for all 119 seats on Friday December 07, 2018. Counting of votes will be done on December 11 and the result will also be declared on the same day", Chief Election Commissioner of India OP Rawat said Saturday.

Though the Election Commission of India will issue the Gazette Notification for December 2018 Telangana Assembly elections on November 12, 2018, with the announcement of election schedule, the Model Code of Conduct has come into force with immediate effect.

According to the Telangana election schedule announced by the ECI today, last date of nominations in the state is November 19, 2018, date of scrutiny of nominations is November 20, 2018 and last date of withdrawal is November 22, 2018.

The Telangana Assembly was dissolved by the Governor on the recommendation of K. Chandrashekar Rao, popularly known as KCR, led cabinet. KCR is currently acting chief minister of Telangana.

The Telangana assembly has a total of 119 seats. The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) had sweeped the 2014 state elections, winning a total of 90 seats. Congress had won 13 seats, BJP 05, TDP 03 and CPI(M) just 01 seat.

The TRS has already released its first list of 105 candidates. The list, having names of only 02 Muslims, included all sitting MLAs except two. The AIMIM has also released its list of candidates for the 2018 polls. The party has retained all its sitting MLAs for the upcoming elections.

The Congress, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) have formed an alliance in the poll bound Telangana. On the other hand, Asaduddin Owaisi's AIMIM, which had 07 MLAs in the dissolved assembly, is trying its best to win as many seats in the December 2018 Telangana Assembly elections.

Along with Telangana, the Election Commission of India also announced today the election schedule of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of