Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Jalgaon Municipal Elections: Muslims improve tally in the house
Monday September 2, 2013 8:30 PM, Staff Reporter

The Muslim councilors have improved their tally from 04 to 06 in the house of 75 in the Jalgaon Municipal Corporation elections for which were held on Sunday.

Based on the results declared today after counting of votes, a total of 06 Muslims - 04 from the Khandesh Vikas Aghadi and 02 from the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) have declared as winners in their respective wards.

As per the overal results, the ruling Khandesh Vikas Aghadi, formed by Sureshdada Jain - a former state minister who was arrested in a graft case and is in judicial custody since more than a year, has emerged as the single largest party by wining 33 seats in a house of 75 - short of just five seats to have its mayor.

The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), which was fighting the election for the first time, won in 12 wards, while the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), which was led by the opposition leader in the state assembly, Eknath Khadse, could win just 15 seats.

Khadse tried hard to defeat the Agahdi, formed by Sureshdada Jain - a former state minister who was arrested in a graft case and is in judicial custody since more than a year, but could not succeed.

In the absence of Sureshdada Jain, the Khandesh Vikas Aghadi, was led by his brother Ramesh Jain and contested on all the seats. Jain himself was contesting and won from Ward No 29(B).

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) had fielded 64 candidates but could win just 11 seats.

The Congress party faced a humiliating defeat as it could not win a single seat. Similarly Samajwadi Party which was contesting on 18 seats and was fighting for the first time, could not win on any.

The Agahdi, which is ruling the important civic body in North Maharashtra, did not have any Muslim in the last house.

All the 04 Muslim councilors in the last house were from the NCP.

However, in the tough election, the Aghadi, which had fielded 08 Muslims, has won on 04 seats. Aghadi leaders said that the tally could have been even better had there was no division of votes.

"We were expecting to win on 45 seats including at least 08 Muslims. However, all the parties including the Congress, NCP and MNS tried hard to dislodge the Aghadi from the corporation. They were working on a single point agenda to defeat Surshdada Jain", Karim Salar, Executive President of the Kahndesh Vikas Aghadi, said while talking to

"The results show that the cases filed against Sureshdada Jain were motivated by political and vested interests", he said.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.