Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National
11 hours for voting in Lok Sabha polls
Saturday March 15, 2014 9:35 PM, IANS

Voters across India, barring the northeast, will be given 11 hours - from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. - to cast their ballot for the Lok Sabha polls, the Election Commission said Saturday.

In the most of the northeast region, people will get 10 hours - between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. - to vote, while in Manipur and Nagaland - where the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act is in force - polling would take place till 4 p.m. due to security reasons.

The general election will be held in nine phases - starting April 7 and ending May 12. Counting of votes will take place May 16.


Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.