Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » National
Senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley loses in Amritsar
Friday May 16, 2014 3:34 PM, Staff Reporter

The first popular electoral outing for senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley started on a wrong note as he lost from the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat to Congress candidate Amarinder Singh by nearly 90,000 votes.

Amarinder, a former chief minister of Punjab, claimed that his victory was a clear verdict against the ruling Akali Dal-BJP combine in the state.

Else where in India, Union Minister and Muslim face of the party Salman Khurshid could not retain the Farrukhabad Lok Sabha seat and lost it to Samajwadi Party candidate Rameshwar Singh Yadav.

Khurshid had won the 2009 elections from Farrukhabad by over 1.70 lakh votes. He was the external affairs minister in the outing UPA-II government. But, in 2014 election, he was pushed to 5th position.

He served as an Officer on Special Duty in the PMO during the tenure of Indira Gandhi, and was the minister of state for external affairs from 1991-1996. He has also been the president of Uttar Pradesh Pradesh Congress Committee twice.

When UPA returned to power in 2009, Khurshid was made the minister of state for corporate affairs and minority affairs (Independent charge). In 2011, he was elevated as Cabinet minister and given the ministry of water resources and minority affairs.

Dr Subhash Bhamre of the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) defeated Amrish Patel of the Congress party by more than 01.25 lakh votes in North Maharashtra's Dhule-Malegaon Lok Sabha constituency.

Dr. Bhamre polled a total of 05,24,957 votes whereas Amrish Patel could get just 03,96,851 out of the total 09,78,000 votes polled on the April 24 elections.

Bahujan Samaj Party's Yogesh Yeshwant and Aam Aadmi Party's Ansari Nihal Ahmed got 09,864 and 09,277 votes respectively.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convener Arvind Kejriwal has lost the Varanasi election to BJP's Prime Mininisterial candidate Narendra Modi.

Kejriwal lost the election by over 50,000 votes. Congress candidate Ajay Rai was a distant third.

Narendra Modi contested the 2014 election from two places. Along with Varanasi, he also contested from Vadodara in Gujarat. From here he won the election by more than 03 lakh votes.

At other places, former cricketer and the sitting Congress MP from Moradabad Mohammad Azharudding is ahead of his nearest rival of the Bhartia Janata Party (BJP) in the Tonk-Sawaimadhopur LS seat in Rajasthan.

The All Indian Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) president and sitting MP Asaduddin Owaisi is leading in Hyderabad, whereas Indian Union Muslim League's E Ahmed has already been declared as winner.

Abu Hasem Khan C of Congress is also leading in Malda South in West Bengal.

Maulana Asrarul Haqu Qasmi of the Congress party is also leading in Kishanganj in Bihar, as per the election commission data available till 10:15 a.m. He is the sitting MP of Congress from Kishanganj and set to retain the seat.

Badrudding Ajmal Qasmi of AIUDF is also leading by more than five thousand votes.

In Dhule-Malegaon Lok Sabha constituency, Bhartia Janata Party's Dr Subhash Bhamre is ahead of his nearest rival Amrish Patel of Congress, as per the vote count result after the sixth round.

After the six rounds f counting six assembly constituencies, Dr Subhash Bhamre polled 1,48,200 votes whereas Amrish Patel of Congress got a total of 1,22, 381 votes.

Ansari Nihal of the AAP party could just get a total of 3,412 votes after the six rounds of counting.

In Gurgaon, Zakir Hussain of the Congress party is ahead of his nearest rival of the BJP, as per the election commission data available till 09:30 a.m.

Interestingly, the Aam Aadmi Party's (AAP) top leader Yogendra Yadav, is decimated at 5th spot. He bagged just 740 votes till 09:30 a.m.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is leading in three Punjab parliamentary seats. The AAP is also leading on other two seats. Exit polls had predicted the AAP will win two seats in Punjab. The trends show the AAP defying the exit polls.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is leading in 02 seats in Hyderabad. In Assam, AIUDF is leading on 03 seats - a gain of 02 seats as compared to the last election.

Meanwhile, the BJP has won all 26 seats of Gujarat, whereas the BJP-led alliance's overall tally is at 333. The BJP in itself has crossed the half-way mark and is leading on 279 seats.

Earlier, a mass of Indian officials Friday morning began counting the millions of votes polled in the staggered Lok Sabha election, officials said.

Tens of thousands of officials began the formal counting at 8 a.m. in 989 centres across the country, watched by agents of the candidates as well as security personnel.

An estimated 550 million electorate, or 66 percent of the total, voted in the election that ended May 12 to elect a new 543-member Lok Sabha.

Exit polls at the end of the staggered polls have predicted a win for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its allies in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

A total of 8,251 candidates, including 668 women, contested the battle for the 16th Lok Sabha.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.