Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Amanatullah Khan, Mohd Ishraque of AAP close to historic win in Delhi
Tuesday February 10, 2015 12:48 PM, News Network

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidates in Saleempur and Okhla are comfortably ahead of their rivals in their respective constituencies and are close to historic victories in the 2015 Delhi assembly elections, according to the according to the available trends at 12:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Amantullah Khan
[Amanatullah Khan - AAP candidate, Okhla. He is set to defeat Congress strong-man Asif Mohd Khan.]

In Okhla assembly constituency, AAP candidateAmanatullah Khan is leading by 12,597 votes. He is set to defeat Congress strongman Asif Mohd Khan who is trailing with 06,341 votes.

In Saleempur assembly constituency, AAP candidate Mohammad Ishraque is leading by 19,172 votes. BJP's Sanjay Jain is on second position in this assembly constituency.

In Matia Mahal assembly constituency, AAP candidate Asim Ahmed Khan is leading by 17,589 votes. He is set to defeat Shoaib Iqbal, who represented the seat consecutively for five times.

Shoaib Iqbal, who was earlier with Janata Dal, JD(S), Lok Janshakti Party and JD (U) again in 2013 had joined the Congress ahead of the 2015 assembly elections.

Interestingly, Iqbal was earlier in talks with the All India Majlis-e-Ittehdaul Muslimeen (MIM) including party chief Asaduddin Owaisi to help open the MIM unit and streghen it in Delhi. But, he changes his mind after the MIM decided not to contest the Delhi polls.

In Ballimaran, AAP cndidate Imran Hussain is leading by more than 13,447 votes. He is set to defeat the BJP candidate who is trailing at second position. Former minister Haroon Yusuf of Congress is on third position.

Even as the four other Muslim candidates fielded by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) are leading in their respective constituenices, Mohammad Yunus, its candidate in Mustafabad is trailing, according to the available trends at 12:00 p.m. Tuesday.

Mohammad Yunus is trailing by about 18,139 votes to Jagdish Pradhan of BJP in the Mustafabad assembly constituency where counting of votes is still underway.

The Congress is completely wiped out of Delhi and all its candidates are facing humiliating defeats.

Aam Aadmi Party leaders Manish Sisodia and Somnath Bharti, who were ministers in the Arvind Kejriwal government, forged ahead of their rivals, election officials said.

Three other AAP candidates were also on the winning track.

BJP's chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi and Congress veteran A.K. Walia also forged ahead of their rivals.

Exit polls have predicted a win for the AAP, which ruled Delhi for 49 days until Kejriwal resigned as chief minister in February 2014.

Earlier, Kejriwal tweeted: "All the very best Delhiites. Do pray. Prayers are very powerful."

Counting of votes in the assembly elections to Delhi began at 8 a.m. Tuesday.

A total of 673 candidates are in the fray for 70 assembly seats.

Share this page
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of
comments powered by Disqus
| Quick links
Contact us
Subscribe to: RSS » Facebook » Twitter » Newsletter Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.
© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.