Follow us on Facebook | Share on Twitter | Subscribe to RSS Feed
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Newly elected Bihar assembly to have 24 Muslim legislators
Sunday November 8, 2015 11:46 PM, News Network

Shakeel Ahmed

Patna: The newly elected Bihar assembly, which will have legislators of the triumphant Grand Alliance in majority, will have 24 Muslim MLAs, a look at the list of the winning candidates shows.

The Muslim candidates who have won the elections are 12 from RJD, 06 from Congress, 05 from Janata Dal (U) and 01 from CPI (ML).

The RJD had fieled 16 Muslim candidates, and 12 of them have been elected to the new assembly.

The Janata Dal (U) had given party tickets to 07 Muslim candidates. Out of them 05 Muslims won the election.

The Congress party had fielded10 Muslims in the elections. Out of them 06 Muslim candidates have been elected.

This takes the tally of the total number of Muslims in the newly elected assembly to 24 - five more than the last assembly elections, when 19 Muslims candidates were elected to the state assembly in 2010.

The other important factor of the election is that most of the Muslims have defeated the BJP candidates in their respective seats. Some of these seats were earlier won by the BJP due to division in secular votes.

Constituency-wise, Senior Congress leader in Bihar, Shakeel Ahmed, who was trailing in the beginning of vote count, won the elections from Kadwa assembly seat.

Shakeel Ahmed bagged 38,025 votes to defeat his nearest rival of the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) who received 31,551 votes.

Abdul Bari Aiddiqui and Faraz Fatmi, two of the 16 Muslim candidates who contested the Bihar elections on Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) tickets, have won the election from Alinagar and Keoti respectively..

Abdul Bari Siddiqui with 33,860 votes defeated his nearest rival of the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) who got 26,126 votes in Alinagar assembly seat.

Faraz Fatmi, who contested from Keoti assembly seat bagged 46,541 and defeated the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) who polled 40,727.

Muhammad Tauseef Alam and Abdul Jalil Mastan, both belonging to the Congress party, also won the election in their respective constituencies.

Tauseef Alam contested the election from the Bahadurganj assembly seat and bagged 53,533 votes, Abdul Jaleel Mastan fought the Amour assembly constituency.

Also among the Muslim winners are Akhtarul Islam Shaheen of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the party led by India's tallest secular leader Lalu Prasad Yadav. Shaheen won the election and declared winner in Samastipur . He polled 45,871 votes, restricting the Bhartiya Janata Paryy (BJP) candidate to 28,482 votes.

Meanwhile, the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) had also fielded candidates. Both the parties however failed in winning a single seat.

The Complete list of the Muslim MLAs is:

1) Abdul Bari siddiqui (RJD, Ali Nagar)
2) Abdul Jaleel Mastan (Congress, Amour)
3) Abid ur Rehman (Congress, Arriah )
4) Mohd Nawaz Alam (RJD, Arra)
5) Tausif Alam (Congress, Bahadu Ganj)
6) Abdul Subhan (RJD, Basai)
7) Mahboob Alam (CPI ML, Balrampur)
8) Nematullah (RJD, Baruli )
9) Fayaz Alam (RJD, Bisfi )
10) Mohd Ilyas Hussain (RJD, Dehri )
11) Faisal ur Rehman (RJD, Dhaka )
12) Sarfaraz Alam(JDU, Jokihat )
13) Shakeel Ahmed Khan (Congress, Kadwa )
14) Afaq Alam (Congress,Kasba)
15) Faraz Fatimi (RJD, Keoti)
16) Mohd Javed Alam (Congress, Kishan ganj )
17) Mujahid Alam (JDU, Kochadhaman)
18)Abdul Ghafoor (RJD, Mahisi)
19) Shamim Ahmed (RJD, Narkatia )
20) Akhtarul Islam Shaheen (RJD, Samasti pur)
21) Sharfuddin (JDU, Sheohar)
22) Khurdsheed Afroz Alam (JDU, Sikta )
23) Syed Abu Dujana (RJD, Sursana)
24) Naushad Alam (JDU, Thakurganj)


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of