Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Rahim Khan of Congress declared winner in Bidar; C.K. Abdul Rahman Sharief loses Hibbal
Tuesday February 16, 2016 10:44 PM, News Network

New Delhi: Rahim Khan of of the Congress Party won from the Bidar assembly seat defeating his nearest rival Prakaash Khandre of the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) by over 22,000 votes in the by-election held on February 13, according to the Election Commission of India.

However, C.K. Abdul Rahman Sharief of the Congress party lost the election in Hibbal.

Rahim Khan got 70,138 votes out of the total 1,25,699 votes polled in the by-election held to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Gurupadappa Nagmarpalli.

BJP's Prakaash Khandre bagged 47,417 votes. Mohammad Ayza Khan of Janata Dal (S) could get just 4,421 votes.

The Congress also won the Deoband by-election. In the close contest in Deoband, Mavia Ali of the Congress Party bagged a total of 51,012 votes as againt 47,453 votes polled by Meena Singh Rana of the Samajwadi Party.

Rampal Singh Pundir of the BJP ended third with 45,513 votes.

Out of the total of 3,21,375 votes, 1,69,216 votes were polled in the Deoband assembly by-poll held on Februray 13, 2016.

Asaduddin Owaisi led Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) contested the Uttar Pradesh assembly election for the first time. The party had fielded Pradeep Kori, a Dalit, from the Bikapur assembly seat. Kori however lost the election to the Samajwadi Party candidae.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) won the by-election in Muzaffarnagar. Here, BJP's Kapil Dev Agarwal won the by-election defeating Gaurav Swarup Bansal of the Samajwadi Party by about 07,000 votes. Kapil Dev bagged 65,378 votes whereas Bansal polled a total of 58,026 votes. Salman Sayeed of the Congress ended a distant 4th with 10,561 votes.Mithlesh Pal of RLD stood 3rd with 14,673 votes.

The bypoll results are being viewed as crucial in the countdown to the Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh next year.

The BJP was the winner also in Maihar (Madhya Pradesh) and in Hebbal and Devadurga in Karnataka.

BJP's Y.A. Narayanaswamy won from the high-profile Hebbal in Bengaluru North, defeating C.K. Abdul Rahman Sharief (Congress) by 19,149 votes. The loser is the grandson of former union minister C.K. Jaffer Sharief.

Elsewhere in the country, Bihar's Harlakhi seat was retained by the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP). The Shiv Sena won from Palghar in Maharashtra, the ruling TRS crushed the Congress in Narayankhed in Telangana and the CPI-M won from Amarpur in Tripura again with the BJP taking the second spot.

Punjab's Kharoor Sahib constituency went the Shiromani Akali Dal way in an election boycotted by both the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the state's new entrant.

The by-election in Punjab's Khadoor Sahib, boycotted by the Congress and the AAP, was grabbed by the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal's Ravinder Singh Brahmpura. He worsted his nearest rival, an independent, by 65,664 votes.

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal called it a "massive victory of positive agenda of peace, communal harmony, brotherhood and development".

The Congress was stunned in Telangana, M. Bhupal Reddy of the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) defeated P. Sanjeeva Reddy of the Congress by over 53,000 votes.

Bhupal Reddy polled 93,076 votes and Sanjeeva Reddy 39,451 votes. M. Vijayapal Reddy of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) finished third with 14,787 votes.

Tripura's ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist retained by a huge margin the Amarpur seat, where the BJP edged out the Congress to take the second spot, indicating the marginalization of the Congress in the state.

CPI-M's Parimal Debnath defeated BJP's Ranjit Das by 10,597 votes. The CPI-M polled 20,355 votes and the BJP 9,758 votes. The Congress's Chanchal Dey got only 1,231 votes, and stood fourth.

The Indigenous People's Front of Tripura took the third place with 1,623 votes.

Also on Tuesday, BJP's Ashu Verma won the mayoral by-election in Ghaziabad in Uttar Pradesh. He defeated Samajwadi Party's Sudan Rawal by 45,228 votes.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of