Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
Elections in Himachal Pradesh on November 09, Counting of votes on December 18

Thursday October 12, 2017 6:10 PM, News Network

Achal Kumar
[Chief Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Jyoti in a file photo.]

New Delhi:
Assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh will be held as a single phase on November 9 and the Counting of votes will be held on December 18, 2017, the Election Commission of India announced today.

The elections will be conducted by using electronic voting machines (EVMs) with voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPAT), Chief Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Jyoti, who was accompanied by Election Commissioners Om Prakash Rawat and Sunil Arora, said.

The model code of conduct comes into effect immediately.

An estimated 49.05 lakh voters, including over 20,000 new voters, will be exercising their franchise from 7,521 polling stations in Himachal Pradesh.

Voter assistance booth will be set up and 200 wheel chairs have been arranged by the State government, the CEC said. There will be 136 all-women managed poll stations this time, he added.

The ceiling for election expenditure per candidate is Rs. 25 lakh.

The Election Commission, for the first time use, RONet, an integrated application for conducted elections. It was first implemented in pilot basis in Ludhiana Assembly elections.

Photo Electoral Rolls will be used during this General Election and photo percentages in Photo Electoral Rolls of this State is 100%.

Identification of the voters at the polling booth at the time of poll shall be mandatory. Electors who have been provided with EPIC shall be identified through EPIC.

The term of the 68-member Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly will come to an end on January 7, 2018.

The total number of Assembly Constituencies in the State of Himachal Pradesh are 68. Seats reserved for the Scheduled Castes 17 and the Scheduled Tribes 03. In the last elections, the Congress had won 36 seats and the BJP 27. Independent candidates had won five seats.

The contest comes at a time when Modi government is under pressure over economy slowdown and the congress party is looking at a leadership change.

The Congress has announced Himachal Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh as the nominee.


Share this page
More Headlines
Website credits Amit Shah's political stature for son Jay Shah's rise, faces defamation suit
Wild speculations about whether Qatar will be able to host 2022 World Cup
What is yawning? Why is it so contagious? Explore the answers here
Sun Valley doctors conduct media clinic at Guwahati Press Club
BJP, RSS Declare Holy War Against Kerala
Orthorexia: When ‘healthy eating’ ends up making you sick
Hajj 2018: Panel proposes women above 45 be allowed to perform Hajj without Mahram
Odisha OTET 2017 Answer Keys released, Click here to download
Dealers want petrol, diesel under GST, revocation of daily price change; call strike on Oct 13
More iPhone 8 Plus handsets 'burst open', Apple announces probe
Woman gangraped in Muzaffarnagar as her infant son cried, helpless husband watched
GST rate on 27 items including synthetic yarn of different types used in textiles reduced
Neurons to blame if your are sleeping during lectures, important meetings
Protests at Jantar Mantar Banned - Noise Pollution or Pollution of Democratic Freedom?
Istanbul is Turkey's export champion and a major tourist hub
'Secret Superstar' is a 'step in right direction' towards gender equality: Aamir Khan
Drug Alert: More than half of new cancer medicines may not work
SC appoints lawyer to see if re-investigation of Mahatma Gandhi’s murder feasible
CPAT 2017 Official Answer Key to be released shortly, Challenge before Oct 8
IBPS RRB Officer Scale 1 Preliminary Exam 2017 result to be released shortly
Taking 'breaks' in your diet regime may help you lose more weight

 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of