Ummid Assistant

'IGNOU to launch post-graduate medical programmes

IGNOU trains teachers to develop online courses

Welcome Guest! You are here: Home Sports

Maiden win for Feroz Khan in JK Tyre National Racing

Saturday September 17, 2011 08:31:47 PM, IANS

Related Article

Armaan first Indian to secure a slot at Indy Lights

The 22-year old Armaan impressed the BHA team Tuesday with his pace and handling of the 500bhp, V8 engine-powered car that often exceeded speeds of 270 kmph and offered the Indian a slot in the 2012 Indy Lights series that will be a stepping stone to progress to the iconic Indy Racing League (IRL), the American equivalent of Formula One, in 2013.  

Chennai: Young Feroz Khan (HCZ Racing) showcased his racing genes as he recorded his maiden win in the Indian Junior Touring Cars class by also clocking the fastest lap of the 10-lap event in the JK Tyre National Racing Championship here Saturday.

The damp track did not deter Khan, son of former National champion Ayub, as he finished ahead of championship leader Diljith Shaji (LCT Sigaram Sports) and B Bala Vijay (Moto-Rev India).

Starting third on the grid, Khan slipped past the front-runners and once in the lead, did not look back as he came up with a near-impeccable drive.

Meanwhile, Ameya Walavalkar (Mars Racing) survived a spin at turn-1 to win the Formula LGB Swift race from TVS Girling drivers S Narendran and Sandeep Kumar.

Narendran was rather fortunate to finish ahead of Sandeep Kumar as he too spun after catching up with Walavalkar who displayed plenty of pluck and some defensive driving to register his fourth win of the season.

In the Super Saloon class race, Coimbatore's Vijayakumar Rajvirudhan (Prime Racing) saw off a strong challenge from veteran Narayanaswamy Leelakrishnan (RAD Racing) and chalked up a good win while Siddharth Kishore (Performance Racing) came in third in front of championship leader Radha Selvarajan (RAD Racing) who was nursing fever.

The results:

Formula LGB Swift (10 laps): 1. Ameya Walakwalkar (Mars Racing) 20:02.952; 2. S Narendran (TVS Girling) 20:16.798; 3. Sandeep Kumar (TVS Girling) 20:17.092.

Indian Touring Cars (Super Saloon, 10 laps): 1. Vijayakumar Rajvirdhan (Prime Racing) 20:37.716; 2. Narayanaswamy Leelakrishnan (Rad Racing) 20:40.859; 3. Siddharth Kishore (Performance Racing) 2-:53.665.

Indian Junior Touring Cars (10 laps): 1. Feroz Khan (HCZ Racing) 21:57.952; 2. Diljith Shaji (LCT Sigaram Sports) 22:00.005; 3. B Bala Vijay (Moto-Rev India) 22:23.069.






Bookmark and Share

Home | Top of the Page



Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of

Comments powered by DISQUS




Top Stories

Allies, opposition target government over petrol price rise

Key allies of the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Friday joined the chorus against the petrol price hike, forcing the government to call off a ministerial meeting that was to   

After petrol price hike, brace for higher interest on loans

Public fumes, as petrol prices hiked again


  Most Read

Students discharged but mid-day meal scheme handling still poses a threat

It is learnt that complaints against these schools were filed when it was found that they sold the  

Over 100 students hospitalised for food poisoning; Panic in Malegaon

Riot victims in Bharatpur allege police brutality

Probably at the same time when Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh was urging the police forces to "honestly discharge their duties" and function within the democratic framework to "scrupulously  

Bharatpur Riots: Tension prevails; Toll rises to seven


  News Pick

Kashmir panel wants international probe into unmarked graves

A day after the state human rights panel directed the Jammu and Kashmir government to begin a probe into the more t 

Probe all Kashmir killings since 1989: Omar

Modi recounts Gujarat's success as he begins fast

Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi began his three-day 'sadbhavana' fast Saturday saying the day is not far when the country, and indeed the world 

Gujarat Congress leaders counter Modi with parallel fast

Telangana celebrates liberation day amid tension, arrests

Police arrested activists of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM), Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and other groups when they tried to barge into government offices in  


Picture of the Day

The 27th of Ramadan (August 26, 2011 this year), "Laylet al-Qadr" (Night of Power), is one of the holiest nights of the Islamic calendar, the night when the Quran began to be revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon him). Millions from around the world visit the Grand Mosque in Makkah from all over the world and pray over the night.



RSS  |  Contact us


| Quick links



Subscribe to

Ummid Assistant






About us




Government Schemes










Contact us





    Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.

2010 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.