Ummid Assistant

Applications open for Manmohan scholarship at Cambridge

Opportunities for Indian students in US

Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics

BJP, Congress, JD-S announce Karnataka poll candidates

Friday April 05, 2013 10:09:33 PM, IANS

New Delhi/Bangalore: Karnataka's ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and main opposition Congress and Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) Friday released first lists of their candidates for the May 5 state assembly poll

The BJP announced candidates for 140 seats of the 225-member assembly that includes one nominated member, renominating most of the legislators while the Congress named nominees for 177 seats.

The JD-S list has names for 122 seats.

The BJP's first list does not have names of three legislators who had spent some time in jail in connection with corruption cases against them.

The party has renominated Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar, Deputy Chief Ministers R. Ashoka and K.S. Eshwarappa and most of the other ministers from their home constituencies.

In the Congress, the prominent candidates are state party chief G. Parameshwara, legislative party leader Siddaramaiah and state women's wing chief Manjula Naidu.

The BJP and the Congress released their lists in New Delhi after approval by the central leaders while JD-S announced the names in Bangalore.

The JD-S list contains the names of two of the party's three Lok Sabha members - former chief minister and party president H.D. Deve Gowda's son H. D. Kumaraswamy and N. Cheluvarayaswamy. Gowda is the third JD-S Lok Sabha member.

Announcing the BJP names, party general secretary and Bangalore South Lok Sabha member H. N. Ananth Kumar said Shettar will seek re-election from Hubli-Dharwad central, his home constituency in north Karantaka, Ashok from Padmanabhanagar in Bangalore and Eshwarappa from his home town of Shimoga in central part of the state.

The BJP's first list has four women candidates.

He said candidates for the remaining 84 seats would be announced early next week.

Nominations open April 10 and close April 17. Vote count is on May 8.

From the Congress, Parameshwara will fight from Koratagere (reserved) seat, Siddaramaiah Varuna constituency in Mysore and Naidu from Rajaji Nagar in Bangalore.

Former state party chief R.V. Deshpande will contest from Haliyal in north Karnataka.

Eight women have been given ticket in the first list.





Home | Top of the Page


Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of

Comments powered by DISQUS


More Headlines

North Korea asks Britain to evacuate embassy

Musharraf's nomination papers rejected

Quit if you can't abide by constitution, Katju to Jayalalithaa

Governor flooded with petitions on Sanjay Dutt sentence

31 years after staged shootout, three UP cops get the noose

Six Goa lawmakers ride into assembly on motorbikes, sans helmets

BJP has PMs who lurk, PMs who sulk: Tewari

Lahore school wins India-Pakistan school debate

Indian-American hotel owner Vikram Chatwal arrested

Thane building collapse toll rises to 29

'Modi welcome to apply for visa but no immediate change in US policy'

20 injured in communal clashes in Jaipur


Top Stories

Who make the list of most powerful Indians in GCC

The above facts are not just assumptions, they are real facts derived from the figures emerged after analyzing the list of one hundred powerful Indians in six GCC countries  »

Expatriate exposes pathetic condition of Indian Muslims living in Middle East

Indians in Middle East remit home over $35 billion every year


  Most Read

Rahul disavows PM ambition, says empowerment his focus

Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi Thursday denied he was in the race to be the prime minister and said his aim was to "give voice to a billion-plus Indians" and fight for inclusive growth. Rubbishing   »

'Modi welcome to apply for visa but no immediate change in US policy'

Even as it acknowledged that a US congressional delegation's visit to Gujarat had official sanction, the US said there was no immediate change in its stand on a visa to Chief Minister Narendra Modi  »

Narendra Modi’s strange bedfellows in Washington DC


  News Pick

Ziaul Haque murder case: CBI issues notice to former minister Raja Bhaiyya

Former Uttar Pradesh minister Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiyya has been summoned by the Central  »

Myanmar Communal Violence- a Set back to Democratic Process

Troops are keeping a vigil, martial law has been declared to stop the communal rage which has lasted for three days in Meikhatila in Myanmar. This violence has involved the Buddhists and Muslims. Here the official toll stands  »

Haryana IAS officer Khemka transferred again

Senior IAS officer Ashok Khemka, who had ordered a scrutiny of land deals of UPA chief Sonia Gandhi's son-in-law Robert Vadra, was Thursday transferred by the Haryana government to an inconsequential post. Khemka, now managing director of the Haryana Seeds Development  »

Katju to spearhead 'Court of Last Resort' for illegal detainees

After seeking pardon for actor Sanjay Dutt and Zaibunissa Kazi, found guilty in the 1993 Mumbai serial blasts case, retired Supreme Court judge Markandey Katju is set to launch an NGO  »


Picture of the Day

President of India Pranab Mukherjee released a Commemorative Postage Stamp on Late Yashwantrao Chavan, at the concluding ceremony of the birth centenary celebration of former CM of Maharashtra, Late Yashwantrao Chavan, in Mumbai on March 23, 2013. Union Minister for Agriculture and Food Processing Industries Sharad Pawar is also seen.


Recommend the story to your friends



RSS  |  Contact us


| Quick links



Subscribe to

Ummid Assistant



Science & Technology



About us




Government Schemes










Contact us


The Funny Side

Education & Career Disclaimer | Terms of Use | Advertise with us | Link Exchange is part of the Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and conditions mentioned.

© 2012 Awaz Multimedia & Publications. All rights reserved.