Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
NCP emerges as single largest party in Navi Mumbai, Saffron alliance second
Thursday April 23, 2015 6:40 PM, Staff Reporter

Mumbai: The ruling Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has emerged as the single largest party in the Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation elections counting of votes for which was completed amid tight security on Thursday.

Ganesh Naik

The NCP, which led by Ganesh Naik is ruling the Navi Mumbai civic body since last 20 years, has won in 52 wards - three short of a simple majority in a house of 111 councilors.

The Shiv-Sena BJP alliance which tried everything in hand to dislidge the ruling NCP from the all important Navi Mumbai civic body had to settle for 44 seats, whereas the Congress Party could win just 10 seats. Others inclduing independents emerged victorious in 05 wards.

Election to elect the new body were held in Navi Mumbai and Aurangabad on Wednesday.

About 51 percent of voters exercised their votes to elect 111 members of Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation, whereas 65 per cent voters turned up to elect 111 members of Aurangabad Municipal Corporation in the elections held Wednesday.

Aurangabad has 113 wards, however two Shiv Sena candidates -- in wards 100 and 103 -- had already been elected unopposed.

Shiv Sena and BJP contested in an alliance in both the municipal corporations while the Congress and NCP contested separately.

Sena is in power in Aurangabad for the last 30 years whereas Navi Mumbai, a satellite town of Mumbai, is known to be a stronghold of NCP leader Ganesh Naik.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM), which won on one seat in the last state election, is contesting on 54 seats, and is confident of victory in Muslim majority areas.

"We were in the fray in Aurangabad and the result will prove how Muslim voters have accepted us an alternative," MIM MLA Imtiaz Jaleel said, adding that he hoped for a big victory.

State BJP chief Raosaheb Danve however said that BJP- Shiv Sena alliance will win in Aurangabad. However, the Congress too is confident that the party will be able to dislodge Sena from the civic body in Aurangabad.

In Aurangabad, a total of 8,95,940 voters (Male-4,30,635, female- 3,85,305) cast votes. There were minor incidents of stone-pelting and scuffles.

Elsewhere, the voting percentages in civic polls were as follows: Ambernath municipal council: 48.81 percent, Kulgaon-Badlapur municipal council: 59 percent, Rajgurunagar (Pune): 72 per cent, Varangaon (Jalgaon): 77.23 per cent, Bhokar (Nanded): 74.4 per cent, Movad (Nagpur): 87.90 per cent and Wadi (Nagpur) municipal council: 62.3 per cent.

Of the 2,827 gram panchayats where elections were held, 387 panchayats were elected unopposed.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of