Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
M Rengasamy of AIADMK wins Thanjavur bypoll
Tuesday November 22, 2016 2:51 PM, PTI

Chennai: The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) Tuesday retained the Thanjavur Assembly constituency by a margin of over 25,000 votes and was surging ahead in two other segments in Tamil Nadu.

In Thanjavur, AIADMK candidate M Rengasamy won by a comfortable margin of over 25,000 votes against DMK candidate Anjugham Boopathy.

At the end of the 20th and final round, Rengasamy secured 1,01,362 votes, while Boopathy polled 74,488 votes out of the total 1,86,444 votes.

In Aravakkurichi, AIADMK's V Senthil Balaji was leading by a good margin over his nearest DMK rival K C Palanisamy.

What began as a margin of nearly 2,000 votes at the end of the first round, went on to widen by the ninth round for Balaji, with the AIADMK candidate leading by a margin of over 13,000 votes.

Balaji is leading by a margin of 18,506 votes at the end of 11th round out of the total scheduled 18 rounds.

In Thirupparankundram Assembly segment, AIADMK candidate A K Bose was ahead by a comfortable margin over his nearest rival, DMK candidate P Saravanan.

Bose was leading by 34,345 votes at the end of 17th round out of the total of 18 rounds, the counting for which is expected to complete shortly.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of