Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
Thousands file nominations for 227-member Mumbai Maha Nagar Palika polls

Saturday February 4, 2017 2:19 PM, & Agencies

Thackeray Fadnavis
[Shiv Sena Chief Udhav Thackeray with Maharashtra Chief Minister and BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis in a file photo. Sena BJP snapped ties ahead of the Mumbai Civic Polls.]

Thousands of candidates including official party candidates and many disgruntled by their respective parties listing them as independents, have filed their nominations for the upcoming Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) polls since January 27 till Friday.

No correct figure of total candidates who filed nominations is available so far. While news agency PTI reported that 2,718 candidates have filed nominations, The Hindu in its report said a total of 8,041 candidates have filed nomination papers till Friday.

Friday was the final day for filing of papers, a statement issued by civic administration said. Election Commission hopes that many candidates will withdraw nominations by February 7 - the last day to do so.

Online filing of nominations for 227 electoral wards began from January 27 and ended on Friday. The polls are scheduled to be held on February 21 and the results will be declared on February 23.

"Since most of the nominations were to be filed today itself, therefore, proper security arrangements were put in place at the respective ward offices," a senior BMC official said on Friday.

Among the candidates who filed their nomination papers are 61 of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and 195 candidates are of the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP).

Abu Asim Azmi led Samajwadi Party (SP) has given party tickets to 85 candidates. Among them are 55 Muslims.

Due to rebellion within the party the Congress did not publicly release the official list of candidates, instead issued the AB form directly to the shortlised candidates. The Congress had earlier released a list containing names of 115 candidates. But, after dissent within the party, especially against Sanjay Nirupam, it put a hold on the said the list.

However Congress sources said among the 227 candidates who are contesting BMC elections, 38 are Muslims. Among them are Qamar Jahan Moeen Siddiqui (Ward no. 34), Salma Almekar (Ward no. 48), Fehmeeda Shaikh (Ward no. 49), Arzoo Hanif Malbari (Ward no. 56), Feroze Ahm Shah (Ward no. 62), Meher Mohsin Haider (Ward no. 66), Rafeeque Mustafa (Ward no. 91), Tasleem Yusuf Memon (Ward no. 92), Sharif Qadri (Ward no. 96), Asif Zakria (Ward no. 101), Anjum Sherzada Khan (Ward no. 121), Rashid Khalil Khot (Ward no. 124), Nur Jahan Inamdar (Ward no. 134), Asmeen Dalali Ahmed Khan (Ward no. 136), Bismillah Zakir Mursil (Ward no. 137), Shabnam Mateen Khan (Ward no. 138), Naseem Bano Moh Ishaque Qureshi (Ward no. 140), Khairunnisa Akbar Hussain (Ward no. 143), Majid Mohd Hanif (Ward no. 145), Akram Riyaz Faruqi (Ward no. 159), Mulani Abbas Chandulal (Ward no. 161), Wajid Wahid Qureshi (Ward no. 162), Shaikh Mohd Gaur Shahabuddin (Ward no. 163), Choudhary Ramzan Ali (Ward no. 164), Ashraf Azmi (Ward no. 165), Dilshad Azmi (Ward no. 167), Safiya Ab Hannan (Ward no. 168), Sameena Wajid Shaikh (Ward no. 171), Zubaida Khatoon Khalid Ali (Ward no. 174), Mufti Nyaz Wanu (Ward no. 179), Aadil Ruknuddin Parkar (Ward no. 182), Babu Khan (Ward no. 184), Shakeela Ab Qadir (Ward no. 187), Manzoorul Hasan Bughdadi (Ward no. 209), Musheera Ejaz Ansari (Ward no. 211), Nazia Ashfaq Siddiqi (Ward no. 212), Javed Junaija (Ward no. 213) and Aafrin Javed Shaikh (Ward no. 224).

Ashraf Azmi (Ward no. 165), Dilshad Azmi (Ward no. 167) who are contesting as Congress candidates are sitting Samajwadi Party (SP) candidates.

The Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) of Raj Thackeray released the names of 203 party candidates on the final day of nominations Friday.

The Shiv Sena - the ruling party in the BMC and intended to field candidates on 227 seats could not officially declare the names of party candidates due to rebellion and dissent. At some locations, Shiv Sena workers locked party offices and protests broke out in Sena shakhas across the city.

State Election Commission had set up an exclusive website to upload and fill the nomination online at and has also appointed 22 returning officers (ROs) for the elections.

As per the existing position, Shiv Sena has 75 - maximum number of corporators and ruling the Mumbai Mahanagar Palika in alliance with the BJP which has 31 members.

Congress has a total of 52 members, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has 13 members and others including Abu Asim Azmi led Samajwadi Party (SP) and independents have a total of 28 members.


Share this page
More Headlines
Jaitley proposes National Testing Agency, Annual Learning Outcomes to improve quality education
Union Budget presented, Congress plea for adjournment due to E Ahemad's demise ignored
As Congress leaders flock to AIMIM, Akbaruddin Owaisi 'invites' Abu Asim Azmi to join hands
IUML Chief and Former Union Minister E Ahamed passes away
Syria's Bashar al Assad attends business meet after death rumours
'Visit My Mosque' 3rd edition on Feb 5, Over 150 mosques across UK will be opened for public
UP battle a close race with BJP, allies slightly ahead of rivals: India Today-Axis APM survey
NEET 2017 be held in 80 cities on May 7, Last date of application March 1
February 7 bank strike called off, common strike by nine unions on February 28
Maratha Kranti Morcha protest across Maharashtra; Reports of violence in Aurangabad, Sindhudurg
18 lakh taxpayers to get I-T notices to explain large deposits
Suffering from depression, chronic pain? Try acupuncture
Post demonetisation cash crunch to impact banks' asset quality: Fitch
Over 100 Indian companies to participate in Arab Health 2017
Students skip mid-day meals cooked by Dalit woman in Madhya Pradesh
This space radio could help track every flight in real time
Minister's son marries in Mass Wedding Ceremony, Malegaon sets social example
Uddhav snubs Raj Thackeray's tie-up call, says Shiv Sena will go solo
NSUI screens documentary, blames Modi govt for increasing 'fascism'
SP-Congress alliance to win 187/197 seats, BJP to bag 118/128 in Uttar Pradesh: Survey
Manipur State Polls: BJP rejects charges of ignoring Muslims in ticket distribution
Delhi University lifts 7-year-long freeze on recruitments
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of