Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Ex-CM Dhumal, 03 women in BJP's list of 68 candidates for Himachal Pradesh polls

Wednesday October 18, 2017 6:44 PM, News Network

Dhumal Himachal Polls
[Himachal Pradesh BJP leader Prem Kumar Dhumal with Prime Minister Narendra Modi in a file photo.]

New Delhi:
The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) Thursday released the list containing names of all 68 candidates who will contest the Himachal Pradesh elections scheduled to be held on November 09.

Former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, Sukhram Chodhary, Col Indira Singh Thakur Sarkaghat along with three women candidates have been included in the list released by the party high command today afternoon.

The 03 BJP women who will contest the Himachal Pradesh 2017 polls as BJP candidates are Shashi Bala from Rohru, Kamlesh Kumari from Bohranj and Reeta Dhaman from Indora. All three women have been fielded by the BJP on the seats reserved for SCs.

Former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal will contest from Sujanpur. Dhumal has swapped his present Hamirpur seat with party MLA Narendra Thakur, who will now be the party candidate from the seat.

The list includes several former ministers, including Rajeev Bindal from Nahan and Narinder Bragta from Jubbal-kotkhai. Former Minister Anil Sharma, who had joined the BJP three days back after quitting the Congress, has been fielded from Mandi.

Virbhadra Singh-led Congress won the last assembly elections in the hilly state. The BJP is yet to declare the chief ministerial candidate. The party aims to use Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Amit Shah's image in poll campaign.

The BJP list came two days after the process of filing nominations started for the assembly polls. The last date of filing nominations is October 23. While the polling will be held on November 09, counting of votes will be done on December 18.

The full list of BJP candidates can be found here.


Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of