Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
Congress-BJP vote share difference in Karnataka just 02 per cent: Pre-poll survey

Friday April 13, 2018 8:41 PM, News Network

Karnataka Election Survey 2018

Mumbai: A pre-poll survey conducted exactly a month before the 2018 state election in Karnataka showed that the vote share difference between the ruling Congress and the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is just 02 percent.

The India Today-Karvy opinion polls which could make Congress leaders, especially AICC Chief Rahul Gandhi and Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, feel jittery also predicted a hung assembly.

Karnataka, which has a total of 224 members, is scheduled to go to poll on May 12. The counting of vote will be done on May 15 and the result will also be declared on the same day.

The India Today-Karvy opinion polls said that 38% of the respondents rated Siddaramaiah's performance as good. Of the total respondents, 29% have also rated his performance as poor. Getting into the details of findings of the poll, 28% have rated Siddramaiah's performance as good while 10% have rated him as very good.

The poll has also predicted that Siddaramaiah is the top choice of the respondents for the CM's post with 33% rating him as the best. On the other hand, BJP's Yeddyurappa is at second place with 26% respondents voting for him. The JD (S)'s HD Kumaraswamy has emerged third best choice for CM with 21% respondents voting for him.

For 46 per cent of people in Karantaka, their lives over the last five years of Congress rule have remained the same. On the other hand 30 per cent believe that their lives have become better while only 19 per cent say that their lives have become worse, the survey said.

However, the survey predicted that the Congress will not be able to reach half-way mark of 113 needed to retain power in Karnataka and will end with 90-101 seats. The survey predicted the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) winning 78-86 seats whereas it gave Janata Dal (S) 34-43 seats.

Others who include Arvind Kejriwals’ Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlise-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), Mahila Empowerment Party (MEP) of Dr Nowhera Shaikh, SDPI and other smaller parties could win just 4-7 seats, the pre poll survey by India’s leading media house said.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
More Headlines
Kerala Class 10 SSLC 2018 result will be declared as per schedule
Now, VHP, Bajrang Dal provocation in Tripura over Cow Slaughter, Nationality
Schoolkids injured, houses of Dalit MLAs set on fire as counter protests rock Rajasthan
Have not diluted SC/ST Act, says Supreme Court; refuses to stay earlier order
'UP officials turning a blind eye to processions with weapons during Hindu festivals'
MCA CET 2018 result declared; Shivam Tiwari, Vivek Mishra, Shriya Shetty are toppers
No Class 10 Mathematics re-exam, says CBSE; students relieved
Effective use of Cloud Technology for data sharing
Railway Recruitment Boards RRB to announce Group D, Group C 2018 exam dates soon
China retaliates with increased tariffs on 128 US products by up to 25 percent
Allahabad HC Mosque can't be just asked to move out: Supreme Court told
Rama Navami Clashes and Rise of Hindu Militancy
Sri Chaitanya, Narayana colleges are killing students, should be banned: Telangana Govt urged
'Justice to Jafri and Ishrat, right to equality and jobs our concerns, not Triple Talaq'
'Love a Muslim Day' on April 3 takes over 'Punish a Muslim Day' hate campaign in UK
Conscious Academy opens Malopara branch; journey to enlighten blooming buds begins
Pfizer looks for another Viagra like miracle drug to compensate revenue loss
Amid boycott appeals, petition in SC against Class 10 Maths re-exam
Dalit youth hacked to death for owning, riding horse in Gujarat, 03 detained
Right-wing propaganda website editor arrested for peddling fake news
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of