Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Education & Career
After cold shoulder by JD(S), Owaisi's AMIM decides to go alone in Karnataka

Tuesday March 27, 2018 9:46 PM , News Network

AIMIM Karnataka

Hyderabad: After failing to get any response from Janata Dal (Secular) for over a month, Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Tuesday said it will contest the Karnataka assembly elections alone and without any alliance with other parties.

"The AIMIM is not looking at electoral tie-up in Karnataka and will contest the state elections alone”, the party sources said adding that the number of seats it will contest is yet to be finalized.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) was earlier trying to form an alliance with Deve Gawda led Janata Dal (S) and Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). However, the party did not get any response from either of the two, sources said.

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) had contested the Bengaluru civic elections held in August 2015, but none of its candidates could win the election. The Hyderabad based party AIMIM had earlier also contested state elections in Maharashtra, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh. However, except winning 02 seats in Maharashtra, it could not win any seat in the other two states.

The AIMIM had first time contested election outside Hyderabad in 2012 Nanded civic elections and won 11 seats. However, it faced humiliating defeat in the 2017 Nanded civic polls when all its candidates lost the polls.

The Election Commission of India today announced the 224-member Karnataka Assembly Election 2018 dates. Accordingly, the single phase election will be held on May 12 and result will be declared on May 15, 2018. The Election Commission said that the notification for the Karnataka assembly election 2018 will be released on April 17 but the election code of conduct comes into force from today. It also said that the last date to file nomination will be April 24, scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on April 25 and last date to withdraw nomination will be April 27.

Karnataka is currently being ruled by the Congress which has a total of 113 MLAs in the house of 224. The BJP has 44 Members whereas Janata Dal (S) had 40 MLAs. The 2013 Karnataka elections were held on May 05. The current tenure of Karnataka assembly will end on May 28, 2018. As per rules the assembly election will have to be held and new house constituted before May 29.

According to 2011 Census of India, 84% of the population in Karnataka are Hindu, 12.9% are Muslim, 1.9% are Christian, 0.7% are Jains, 0.2% are Buddhist, some 0.1% are Sikhs, and remaining belong to other religions. Karnataka is also the location of some of tribes like, Nayaka, Soliga, and Yerava.

Besides Congress, Janata Dal (S) and other parties who claim to be secular, Asauddin Owaisi’s AIMIM has been sole seeker of Muslim votes in earlier elections. However in Karnataka, Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) and Dr Nowhera Shaikh-led All India Mahila Empowerment Party (MEP) – the two parties which mainly bank on Muslim support, are also contesting the state elections.

While SDPI has not yet declared how many seats it will contest, All India Mahila Empowerment Party (MEP) has already said it will field candidates on all 224 assembly constituencies. The All India Mahila Empowerment Party (MEP) is contesting election for the first time.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of