Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Regional
President approves disqualification of 20 AAP legislators

Sunday January 21, 2018 6:02 PM, & Agencies


New Delhi:
President Ram Nath Kovind has approved the disqualification of 20 Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) legislators in Delhi on charges of holding Office of Profit, an official spokesman said on Sunday.

With this the strength of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the Delhi Assembly would come down to 46. However, despite this decrease in the numbers, there is no danger to the Arvind Kejriwal government as it would still be in majority in a 70 member Delhi assembly with 46 MLAs.

Reacting on President’s approval Delhi Minister Gopal Rai said the party will approach the High Court and even the Supreme Court if need be.

“We had hoped to go to the President asking him to give us a chance to present ourselves. Now we received this news. AAP will knock the doors of HC and even SC if the need be,” said Gopal Rai.

The Election Commission had on Friday recommended to the President that 20 Aam Aadmi Party legislators be disqualified for holding offices of profit as parliamentary secretaries.

AAP legislators, who had moved the Delhi High Court on Friday, did not get interim relief. The Court questioned AAP MLAs, asking them why they did not participate in EC’s proceedings merely because a petition was filed with the HC.

Stating that the petition was filed on the basis of media reports, the High Court asked AAP MLAs to wait till Monday when the poll panel will inform the court whether media reports are true or not.

The 20 MLAs set to be disqualified include, Adarsh Shastri (Dwarka), Alka Lamba (Chandni Chowk), Anil Bajpai (Gandhi Nagar), Avtar Singh (Kalkaji), Kailash Gahlot (Najafgarh) -- who is also a minister -- Madan Lal (Kasturba Nagar), Manoj Kumar (Kondli), Naresh Yadav (Mehrauli), Nitin Tyagi (Laxmi Nagar), Praveen Kumar (Jangpura).

Others are: Rajesh Gupta (Wazirpur), Rajesh Rishi ( Janakpuri), Sanjeev Jha (Burari), Sarita Singh (Rohtas Nagar), Som Dutt (Sadar Bazar), Sharad Kumar (Narela), Shiv Charan Goel (Moti Nagar), Sukhbir Singh (Mundka), Vijendar Garg (Rajinder Nagar) and Jarnail Singh (Tilak Nagar).

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of