More on Ummid : International l National Regional l Politics Sports Religion l History l Culture l Education



Badruddin Ajmal leading by a margin of 1 lakh votes

Amreshbhai Patel and Sameer Bhujbal leading in Dhule-Malegaon and Nashik respectively, Clear lead for UPA

Saturday May 16, 2009 01:19:05 PM, Team Ummid





Video: Message of Unity from Malegaon

'India Unity'

An English Play briliantly staged by Little Kids


Success Stories

"I believed, nobody could stop me this time", says Sufiyah Faruquie who not only successfully cracked the UPSC exams but also stood top in the list of the 31 Muslims who made their way...Read Full

"No Muslim child in India to be left behind for education”:  Presently I work as a Scientific Officer in Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, India, since 1998. My contribution is in the research and...Read Full

Mumbai Muslim girl takes Urdu route to IAS: Sarah Rizvi has done her bit to issue a blow to the stereotype of the Muslim woman, moderately educated and socially subjugated, ensconced...Read Full

From Amroha To The Moon:THE ENTRANCE to Chaugori Mohalla, a small Muslim locality in Uttar Pradesh’s Amroha town, abou...Read Full

Related Article

Campaign closes, endgame begins: Campaigning for the month-long general election came to a close on Monday with no clear winner in sight, setting the stage for active back-channel negotiations between key political groupings.....Read Full

Exit polls suggest India heading for weak coalition

Mysteries of the Muslim mood

Thanks to Varun, Pilibhit is a house divided

Shadows of Violence Cling to Indian Politician

Afraid of Third Front

India's all-important Muslim vote

Indian Muslims and the 2009 Elections

Sikhs fought their own battle, Muslims want others to do so

Malegaon: Badruddin Ajmal sure to win from Bhubri, leading by a margin of 1 lakh plus votes. AUDF leading in Karimganj, Barpeta, Mongaldoi, Silchar beside Dhubri.

Assam has 14 PCs out of AUDF contested from 9 only.


After three rounds of counting NCP candidate Sameer Bhujbal is leading in Nashik by 21000 votes.


After the fourth round of the counting in Dhule-Malegaon constituency, results showed veteran Socialist leader Nehal Ahmad trailing against his Congress rival Amrishbhai Patel. Arishbhai Patel is leading by over 5000 votes.


In Aurangabad, Shiv Sena sitting MP Chandrakant Khaire is trailing against the Congress candidate Uttam Singh Pawar as the results were announced for the first round.


Early trends coming as the counting began today morning show United Progressive Alliance (UPA) led by Indian National Congress Party (INC) leading in as many as 225 seats. While NDA is leading on 158 seats, the Third Front formed just before the election with much fanfare is leading in 73 seats.


Congress President Sonia Gandhi, SP president Mulayam Singh Yadav and BJP's Jaswant Singh are leading in their respective constituencies.


Among the other leading candidates are Hoe Minister Chidambaram, Congress candidate from Ajmer Sachin Pilot, External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee in Jangipur and Jyotiraditya Scindia of Congress.


Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate Jaya Prada who is seeking re-election from Rampur in Uttar Pradesh is trailing against her Congress rival Noor Begum. SP leader Azam Khan's campaigning against the party candidate Jaya Prada had created much of the stir during the elections.


Railway Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav who was earlier trailing in Saran is now leading in both the seats Pataliputra and Saran.


BJP candidate Varun Gandhi who created storm by his inflammatory speeches is leading in Pilibhit. He is contesting first time in the elections.


As the first round of the counting in Dhule-Malegaon constituency ended at around 09:10 in the morning, result showed veteran Socialist leader leading in the first round. He is in a neck-to-neck battle against his Congress rival Amrishbhai Patel.


State wise trends show Congress leading in Haryana, West Bengal and Rajasthan and BJP leading in Karnataka. DMK leading in TN.




Alliance Leads Results Change Total
UPA 223 28 +43 251
NDA 137 23 -40 160
Third Front 77 8 -31 85
Fourth Front 31 0 -33 31
Others 14 2   16
Awaited       0

Source: ndtv.com







                                                        Home | Top of the page      



  Comment on this article


E-mail Address:
Write here...






Ummid.com: Home | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | About Us | Feedback

Ummid Business: Advertise with us | Careers | Link Exchange

Ummid.com is part of Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and condition mentioned.