Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
15 Muslims in Congress first list of 218 for Karnataka 2018 elections

Sunday April 15, 2018 11:07 PM, Zohair M Safwan,

R Roshan Baig
[Roshan Baig and all the sitting MLAs have been given party tickets from the assembly constituencies they had won in the 2013 assembly elections. (File photo)]

Mumbai: The All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Sunday released the first list of 218 candidates who have been finalized by the party high command to contest the Karnataka Assembly elections scheduled to be held in the coming month.

The list contains the names of 15 Muslims including R Roshan Baig – a minister in the current government, and sitting MLAs Fairoz Nuruddin Saith, U.T. Abdul Khader, Dr. Rafeeq Ahmed S., Tanveer Sait and B.A.Mohiuddin Bava.

Roshan Baig and all the sitting MLAs have been given party tickets from the assembly constituencies they had won in the 2013 assembly elections. R Roshan Baig has been fielded from Shivajinagar assembly seat, Fairoz N Sait from Belgaum Uttar, U.T. Abdul Khader from Mangalore, Dr Rafeeq Ahmed S. from Tumkur City, Tanveer Sait from Narasimharaja and B.A.Mohiuddin Bava from Mangalore City North.

Gulbarga Uttar is currently represented by Qamarul Islam. Since the seat is reserved for ladies, Qamarul Islam’s wife K Fatima has been fielded by the Congress from Gulbarga Uttar.

The Congress has also given the party ticket Iqbal Ansari – a sitting MLA of Janata Dal (S). Iqbal Ansari will contest the 2018 election from the Gangawati assembly constituency as Congress candidate.

Other Muslims who have been given Congress party ticket include Abdul Hameed Mushrif who will contest from Bijapur City, Rahim Khan from Bidar, Mohammed Ismail Tamatgaf from Hubli Dharwad West, Sayed Azeempeer S. Khadri from Shiggaon, Syed Zameer Pasha from Kolar, Zameer Ahmed Khan from Chamrajpet and H.A.Iqbal Hussain from Ramanagaram.

According to the Congress first list for 2018 Karnataka elections Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will contest from the Chamundeshwari assembly seat, his son Yatheendra will contest from Varuna constituency and Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy’s daughter Soumya received the Congress ticket from Jayanagar seat.

The BJP has also released its first list of 72 candidadtes. None of them is a Muslim. Likewise, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has also not fielded any Muslim candidate in Karnataka. Janata Dal (S) has so far not released the names of its candidates.

Karnataka Assembly has a total of 224 members of them 11 are Muslims including 92 from Janata Dal (S). Congress and Janata Dal (S) had both fielded 18 Muslims in the May 2013 Karnataka state polls. The state is currently being ruled by the Congress which has a total of 113 MLAs in the house of 224. The BJP has 44 Members whereas Janata Dal (S) has 40 MLAs.

According to the 2011 Census report, 84% of the population in Karnataka are Hindu, 12.9% are Muslim, 1.9% are Christian, 0.7% are Jains, 0.2% are Buddhist, some 0.1% are Sikhs, and remaining belong to other religions. Karnataka is also the location of some of tribes like, Nayaka, Soliga, and Yerava.

According to the schedule announced by the Election Commission of India the single phase election in Karnataka will be held on May 12 and result will be declared on May 15, 2018 whereas the notification for the will be released on April 17. The last date to file nomination is April 24, scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on April 25 and last date to withdraw nomination will be April 27.

A pre-poll survey conducted exactly a month before the election predicted a close contest between the ruling Congress and the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). The survey conducted by India Today-Karvy said Congress will be able to win a maximum of 101 seats – 12 short of the halfway mark needed to retain power in Karnataka. The survey has given BJP a maximum of 86 seats, Janata Dal (S) a maximum of 43 seats and barely 4-7 seats to other parties.

For all the latest News, Opinions and Views, download App

Select Langauge To Read in Urdu, Hindi, Marathi or Arabic

Share this page
More Headlines
Kerala Class 10 SSLC 2018 result will be declared as per schedule
Now, VHP, Bajrang Dal provocation in Tripura over Cow Slaughter, Nationality
Schoolkids injured, houses of Dalit MLAs set on fire as counter protests rock Rajasthan
Have not diluted SC/ST Act, says Supreme Court; refuses to stay earlier order
'UP officials turning a blind eye to processions with weapons during Hindu festivals'
MCA CET 2018 result declared; Shivam Tiwari, Vivek Mishra, Shriya Shetty are toppers
No Class 10 Mathematics re-exam, says CBSE; students relieved
Effective use of Cloud Technology for data sharing
Railway Recruitment Boards RRB to announce Group D, Group C 2018 exam dates soon
China retaliates with increased tariffs on 128 US products by up to 25 percent
Allahabad HC Mosque can't be just asked to move out: Supreme Court told
Rama Navami Clashes and Rise of Hindu Militancy
Sri Chaitanya, Narayana colleges are killing students, should be banned: Telangana Govt urged
'Justice to Jafri and Ishrat, right to equality and jobs our concerns, not Triple Talaq'
'Love a Muslim Day' on April 3 takes over 'Punish a Muslim Day' hate campaign in UK
Conscious Academy opens Malopara branch; journey to enlighten blooming buds begins
Pfizer looks for another Viagra like miracle drug to compensate revenue loss
Amid boycott appeals, petition in SC against Class 10 Maths re-exam
Dalit youth hacked to death for owning, riding horse in Gujarat, 03 detained
Right-wing propaganda website editor arrested for peddling fake news
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of