More on Ummid : International l National Regional l Politics Sports Religion l History l Culture l Education



JD-U, BJP sweep Bihar; RJD and LJP trail

Saturday May 16, 2009 03:48:44 PM, IANS




Video: Message of Unity from Malegaon

'India Unity'

An English Play briliantly staged by Little Kids


Success Stories

"I believed, nobody could stop me this time", says Sufiyah Faruquie who not only successfully cracked the UPSC exams but also stood top in the list of the 31 Muslims who made their way...Read Full

"No Muslim child in India to be left behind for education”:  Presently I work as a Scientific Officer in Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, India, since 1998. My contribution is in the research and...Read Full

Mumbai Muslim girl takes Urdu route to IAS: Sarah Rizvi has done her bit to issue a blow to the stereotype of the Muslim woman, moderately educated and socially subjugated, ensconced...Read Full

From Amroha To The Moon:THE ENTRANCE to Chaugori Mohalla, a small Muslim locality in Uttar Pradesh’s Amroha town, abou...Read Full

Related Article

Congress claims victory, UPA tops poll battle: Congress claimed victory Saturday as its United Progressive Alliance (UPA) inched towards near majority in the 545-seat Lok Sabha, dealing blows to a divided Opposition......Read Full

Congress to stake claim for govt formation

Mysteries of the Muslim mood

Badruddin Ajmal leading by a margin of 1 lakh votes

Shadows of Violence Cling to Indian Politician

On 16th May, all eyes on Gujarat

India's all-important Muslim vote

Indian Muslims and the 2009 Elections

Sikhs fought their own battle, Muslims want others to do so

Patna: The Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) combine was leading in 27 of Bihar's 40 parliamentary seats as counting of votes cast for the Lok Sabha elections was underway Saturday, poll officials said.

Counting began simultaneously at 0800 IST in all district headquarters. By 1000 hrs IST, the JD-U and its alliance partner BJP were leading in 27 seats, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) was leading in five, and the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Congress in one each.

RJD chief and Railway Minister Lalu Prasad was leading in both Saran and Pataliputra Lok Sabha constituencies.

LJP chief and Steel Minister Ram Vilas Paswan was trailing behind Ram Sundar Das of the JD-U in Hajipur constituency.

Veteran Socialist leader George Fernandes, who is contesting as an Independent after the JD-U refused to nominate him, was also trailing behind Jai Narayan Nishad of the JD-U in Muzaffarpur.

Congress's Meira Kumar was trailing by a small margin in Sasaram constituency. TV star and Congress candidate from Patna Saheb Shekhar Suman was trailing behind the BJP's Shatrughan Sinha.

The BJP's Syed Shahnawaz Hussain was leading in Bhagalpur, while his party colleague Raghuvansh Prasad Singh was leading in Vaishali.



Alliance Leads Results Change Total
UPA 164 97   261
NDA 105 53   158
Third Front 61 19   80
Fourth Front 23 4   27
Others 12 5   17
Awaited       0

Source: ndtv.com







                                                        Home | Top of the page      



  Comment on this article


E-mail Address:
Write here...






Ummid.com: Home | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | About Us | Feedback

Ummid Business: Advertise with us | Careers | Link Exchange

Ummid.com is part of Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and condition mentioned.