Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » India
NDA nominee M Venkaiah Naidu elected as India's next Vice President

Saturday August 5, 2017 8:14 PM, & Agencies

M Venkiah Naidu
[M. Venkaiah Naidu (second from right) and Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh N. Chandra Babu Naidu inaugurating the SRM University, in Amaravati, Andhra Pradesh on July 15, 2017.]

New Delhi:
Senior Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and NDA nominee M Venkaiah Naidu was on Saturday declared elected as the next Vice President of India. Naidu will replace Mohamamed Hamid Ansari whose term expires on August 10, 2017.

Naidu got 516 votes out of the total 771 votes cast while Oppositiom candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi, could get only 244 votes. Of the total 771 votes polled, 11 were found to be invalid.

Although 785 MPs are there in both the Houses of Parliament, 14 MPs could not vote.

"I am very humbled. I am also thankful to the Prime Minister and all party leaders for their support. I will seek to utilise the vice presidential institution to strengthen the hands of the president and secondly uphold the dignity of the Upper House,"Naidu said after the election result was announced.

Naidu will be the 13th person to hold the second highest Constitutional post.

Naidu became BJP president ofthe BJP at the age of 51 and he was the youngest president of the party From someone, who as a young party functionary used to make arrangements for Vajpayee’s rallies, he became a leader who shared the dais with the Prime Minister.

It was from one such dais that he made that famous 'loh-purush, vikas-purush' comparison between LK Advani and Vajpayee, forcing the latter to settle the matter then and there by alluding to his retirement from active politics.

The strength of the electoral college comprising both elected and nominated MPs of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha is 790.

While there are two vacancies in the LS, three seats are vacant in the RS also.

One BJP Lok Sabha MP is barred from voting following a judicial pronouncement.

In the 2007 Vice President elections, incumbent Hamid Ansari had polled 456 votes, Najma Heptullah 222 votes and Rashid Masood 075 votes.

In the 2012 polls, Ansari had bagged 490 and NDA nominee Jaswant Singh 238 votes.

Share this page
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of