Follow us on
Welcome Guest! You are here: Home » Politics
High Command puts on hold Congress 1st list for BMC polls after reports of 'favouritism'

Thursday February 2, 2017 2:55 PM, & Agencies

Sanjay Nirupam
[Sanjay Nirupam (L) with Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi in a file photo.]

Congress High Command has put on hold the first list of party candidates for the Mumbai Mahanagar Palika Elections (BMC Polls) reportedly because of internal conflicts and allegations of 'favouritism', according to sources.

The party had released on Wednesday a list of 115 candidates who were supposed to contest the Mumbai Civil Elections scheduled to be held on February 21, 2017.

The Congress High Command however put a stay on the list and sent Bhupinder Hooda to resolve the internal conflicts, party sources said.

The Congress had on Wednesday declared its first list of 115 candidates for the coming BMC polls. Names of seventeen of the party’s sitting corporators, their wives and children, and 11 ex-corporators, have been included in the first list..

The list included some 63 candidates from Marathi community and equal number of women candidates.

The Congress currently has 52 corporators in the civic body and has decided to contest all 227 seats alone for the polls.

According to the list, Sunil More’s wife Supriya has been fielded from ward 201, whereas Manoj Jamsutkar’s wife Sonam got a ticket for ward 210, Pramod Mandrekar’s wife Priti has been fielded from ward 219, Rajendra Mahulkar’s wife Seema has been given a ticket and former minister Chandrakant Handore’s wife Sangeeta has received a ticket for ward 150.

Also, Dyanraj Nikam’s daughter Nikita and late corporator Rajendra Chaube’s son Abhaykumar have been fielded from wards 223 and ward 3 respectively.

Reports of dissent in the party was widely getting circulation since last two weeks. Alleging favouritism and bias Chairman of Congress Minority Department Nizamuddin Rayeen and more than 40 of his supporters who held key posts in Congress District Level Committees had resigned from the primary membership of the party.

Sources said supporters of veteran Congress leader Gurudas Kamat were miffed after the first list was released.

Also, unhappy over the way party tickets were distrubted, Veqarunnisa Anasri, Congress Corporator since last 20 years, also resigned from the party. Nizamuddin Rayeen and Viqarunnisa both raised allegations of bias against Sanjay Nirupam.

Nizamuddin Rayeen and Viqarunnisa Ansari later joined AIMIM of Asaduddin Owaisi. Ansari has also been given AIMIM ticket for the upcoming BMC polls.



Share this page
More Headlines
Jaitley proposes National Testing Agency, Annual Learning Outcomes to improve quality education
Union Budget presented, Congress plea for adjournment due to E Ahemad's demise ignored
As Congress leaders flock to AIMIM, Akbaruddin Owaisi 'invites' Abu Asim Azmi to join hands
IUML Chief and Former Union Minister E Ahamed passes away
Syria's Bashar al Assad attends business meet after death rumours
'Visit My Mosque' 3rd edition on Feb 5, Over 150 mosques across UK will be opened for public
UP battle a close race with BJP, allies slightly ahead of rivals: India Today-Axis APM survey
NEET 2017 be held in 80 cities on May 7, Last date of application March 1
February 7 bank strike called off, common strike by nine unions on February 28
Maratha Kranti Morcha protest across Maharashtra; Reports of violence in Aurangabad, Sindhudurg
18 lakh taxpayers to get I-T notices to explain large deposits
Suffering from depression, chronic pain? Try acupuncture
Post demonetisation cash crunch to impact banks' asset quality: Fitch
Over 100 Indian companies to participate in Arab Health 2017
Students skip mid-day meals cooked by Dalit woman in Madhya Pradesh
This space radio could help track every flight in real time
Minister's son marries in Mass Wedding Ceremony, Malegaon sets social example
Uddhav snubs Raj Thackeray's tie-up call, says Shiv Sena will go solo
NSUI screens documentary, blames Modi govt for increasing 'fascism'
SP-Congress alliance to win 187/197 seats, BJP to bag 118/128 in Uttar Pradesh: Survey
Manipur State Polls: BJP rejects charges of ignoring Muslims in ticket distribution
Delhi University lifts 7-year-long freeze on recruitments
 Post Comments
Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of