More on Ummid : International l National Regional l Politics Sports Religion l History l Culture l Education



BJP wins Malegaon, Shiv Sena grabs Aurangabad

Saturday May 16, 2009 05:38:52 PM, Team ummid




Video: Message of Unity from Malegaon

'India Unity'

An English Play briliantly staged by Little Kids


Success Stories

"I believed, nobody could stop me this time", says Sufiyah Faruquie who not only successfully cracked the UPSC exams but also stood top in the list of the 31 Muslims who made their way...Read Full

"No Muslim child in India to be left behind for education”:  Presently I work as a Scientific Officer in Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai, India, since 1998. My contribution is in the research and...Read Full

Mumbai Muslim girl takes Urdu route to IAS: Sarah Rizvi has done her bit to issue a blow to the stereotype of the Muslim woman, moderately educated and socially subjugated, ensconced...Read Full

From Amroha To The Moon:THE ENTRANCE to Chaugori Mohalla, a small Muslim locality in Uttar Pradesh’s Amroha town, abou...Read Full

Related Article

Congress claims victory, UPA tops poll battle: Congress claimed victory Saturday as its United Progressive Alliance (UPA) inched towards near majority in the 545-seat Lok Sabha, dealing blows to a divided Opposition......Read Full

Congress to stake claim for govt formation

Left bastion crumbles in Kerala, West Bengal

JD-U, BJP sweep Bihar; RJD and LJP trail

Badruddin Ajmal leading by a margin of 1 lakh votes

Shadows of Violence Cling to Indian Politician

On 16th May, all eyes on Gujarat

India's all-important Muslim vote

Indian Muslims and the 2009 Elections

Sikhs fought their own battle, Muslims want others to do so

Malegaon: Malegaon and Aurangabad, the two Muslim dominated towns in North Maharashtra, went the Saffron way when results were announced this afternoon.


In Malegaon, Congress candidate Amrishbhai Patel faced stiff fight from Prataprao Sonawane of BJP and ultimately conceded defeat after the 15th round of the counting. Amrishbhai Patel of Congress was leading in the contest till 14th round. However after 15th round his margin began to decline and finally he conceded defeat to Prataprao Sonawane of BJP. Sonawane won the Dhule-Malegaon parliamentary seat by 19419 votes  bagging 263260 votes. Amrishbhai Patel with 243841 votes was not far behind.


Malegaon and Dhule constituencies were earlier reserved for SCs/STs but after delimitation, the two Muslim dominated towns, in separate reserved constituencies earlier, were merged together and made a single general seat. Since the town has more than 35% Muslim voters, it was demanded from the Congress high command to field a Muslim candidate from this parliamentary constituency. When the demand was turned down, the local leaders decided to support the veteran socialist leader Nehal Ahmad who contested the election as Third Front candidate on Janata Dal (S) ticket.


Congress candidate Amrishbhai Patel though received good supports from the Muslim pockets all through the constituency, 72738 secular votes eaten into by Nehal Ahmad proved damaging for him. It resulted into a sure seat for a secular candidate going to the saffron alliance. The rebellion against Amrishbhai Patel from his own party also played a key role into his defeat.


Meanwhile Aurangabad, the other Muslim dominated town too is grabbed by the Saffron alliance. Chandrakant Khaire, the veteran Shiv Sena (SS) leader with 265896 votes defeated his nearest rival Uttam Singh Pawar of Congress who received 222882 votes. Chandrakant Khaire won the seat third time in a row. In this election Khaire was facing a certain defeat due to the rebel candidate Shantiram Maharaj and tactical understanding of the Muslim organisations with the Congress candidate. But in the end 32646 secular votes eaten into by Sayyad Salim of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) ensured the Congress defeat even though Shantiram Maharaj took away a whopping 148226 votes which otherwise would have gone to Khaire's favour.






Alliance Leads Results Change Total
UPA 116 140 +76 256
NDA 77 90 -10 167
Third Front 41 37 -30 78
Fourth Front 17 9 -38 26
Others 07 9 16
Awaited 0

Source: ndtv.com







                                                        Home | Top of the page      



  Comment on this article


E-mail Address:
Write here...






Ummid.com: Home | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | About Us | Feedback

Ummid Business: Advertise with us | Careers | Link Exchange

Ummid.com is part of Awaz Multimedia & Publications providing World News, News Analysis and Feature Articles on Education, Health. Politics, Technology, Sports, Entertainment, Industry etc. The articles or the views displayed on this website are for public information and in no way describe the editorial views. The users are entitled to use this site subject to the terms and condition mentioned.